Many people these days have computer, laptops, telephone at their home for work. Do you think, working from home has more advantages or disadvantages?

With the availability of electronic devices, such as computers, laptops and telephones, at home, it is being debated whether bringing work there is a good option or not. In my opinion, working from home can prove to be a disadvantage to one's proffessional career. However, under certain cases, working from home can also be beneficial. On the one hand, working from home distances oneself from the workplace, which, in turn, would affect the dedication with which the individual completes his work. There are just too many distractions, such as visiting guests or neighbourhood noises, at home that could affect the individual's working efficiency. Also, working in a workplace creates a bonding with the fellow colleagues which, quite frankly, is not possible when one is working from their home. If we are to consider health as a factor, staying at home does not exactly stimulate body movements the way working at a workplace does. In the long run, the individual starts feeling disconnected from the institute, which consequently, affects their motivation to deliver an efficient result. On the other hand, working from home could be a life-saver for those who could not travel to workplace everyday due to a physical disability or are just away on a journey. With devices like computers and laptops at hand, these individuals could stay in touch with the organisation even though they may not be present there. In conclusion, I believe going to workplace has a profound effect on an individuals long-term career and working from home should only be considered when there a disability preventing them from being physically present at their organisation.