Many people these days choose to work abroad after graduation. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages.

The tendency of working overseas after graduation is increasingly prevalent to the young generation. In my opinion, while there are certain benefits, its drawbacks are more significant. As the world has been globalized, people prefer working in a foreign country, and this could have a positive effect on people’s lives to some extent. Being able to work overseas, people can make friends with foreigners so they could build a stronger social relationship, which can be easily achieved by actively communicating with others. Furthermore, so-called relationships facilitate people to perform better in the workplace as the behaviors of other colleagues are the primary influence. It means that if people are working with those who are punctual and disciplined, they will be easily affected by these manners. However, apart from the benefits expressed above, I believe that the option of working abroad is perhaps even more damaging because of the effect of language barriers. Individuals, who work in a foreign country, often find it extremely difficult to express their thoughts and feelings as a result of talking different languages. For example, in a discussion, if ones are not proficient at speaking English or any foreign language, they might not make a contribution or point out any mistakes from others. This hurdle is also associated with reduced quality and performance among people at work. Another disadvantage caused by language barriers is that this difficulty could make foreigners misunderstand what people say in some contexts. This leads to reduced human interaction among people. In conclusion, although the option of working aboard is becoming popular among people today, I believe that the downsides of this trend would overshadow the benefits.