Many people support use of animals for testing medicines for humans. Others believe it isn’t appropriate to use animals for such experiments. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

For scientists and pharmaceutical industries, the use of animals as a “testing machine” for a newly developed drug is widely accepted. Notwithstanding, a huge amount of people, regardless of whether animal welfare officer, people, that feel pity for those animals or even scientist are against those animal experiments. On first sight, using animals instead of human beings as experimental content is beneficial. The reproduction of animals is fast, mice, for instance, carry out many children per delivery and they can deliver several times a year. Thus, the use of animals is cheap, and it can be sure, that the requested animals are always available. Furthermore, in certain behaviours, the reaction of an animalistic organism towards a given drug is the same as the humane one. As a consequence, drugs can get safer without affecting any human body. Also, testing recently developed drugs at a human body, without knowing about possible side effects, is ethically controversial. However, this argument, regarded from the point of view of the animals´ honour, can be mentioned by reviewers as well. They will admit that every individual has a right to life and it can not easily be said that the human soul or life is worthier than the one of an animal. Furthermore, an animal can´t complain. If it suffers from the given drug, there is no way to escape from this situation. Moreover, testing drugs at animals does not guarantee the lack of side effects in the human body. For certain drugs, animal experiments will be sufficient, but in certain cases, they won´t. Thus, the suffer and pain of the animals was insignificant. To conclude, testing drug at animals is controversial both, using or not using animals as a testing object has its advantages and disadvantages. In my opinion, animal experiments are redundant. If a newly developed drug needs to be tested, in-situ test can be done, such as cultivating the target cells and then adding the substance. Thus, the experiment can be done in a culture dish and no animal will suffer from pain.