Many people say that the only way to guarantee a good job is to complete a course of university education. Others claim that it is better to start work after school and gain experience in the world of work. Discuss

Many people believe that completing a university degree is the only way to get a good job; others think work experience matters more. While universities prepare an individual theoretically, working after school equips a person with skills required for coping in the workplace. In my opinion, both the aforementioned arguments are true to a certain extent. A university degree enhances an individual’s knowledge and promotes intellectual reasoning. This training makes an individual more mature and ready to face the challenges of the workplace. For example, when I was at university, most of our assignments involved critical thinking and research; this has expanded my knowledge in my field. In this modern world, most employers especially those in sectors like finance and health insist that all applicants should have a degree. A student who starts working immediately after leaving school will not be able to obtain a professional degree and hence cannot find employment in these sectors. On the flip side, there are several benefits to getting a job soon after leaving school. A job will give the individual valuable work experience; however it is limited to certain occupations such as those in arts and crafts, fashion designing and cooking where creativity and skills matter more. For example, my friend, who is a chef at a famous restaurant never went to a cooking school; however, she makes delicious food because she has been working at a restaurant ever since she left school. This experience helped her polish her cooking skills. To conclude, both university education and work experience have a role in guaranteeing a good job. Some occupations require a university degree while others do not. In my opinion, everyone should choose what is right for them.