Many people say that globalisation and the growing number of multinational companies have a negative effect on the environment. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Mixed opinions exist among people in relation to how globalization influences the economies of the world. With this trend, an increasing number of multinational companies have been established for the prosperity of their businesses. As a result, some people argue that they have destroyed the environment relating to them. In my view, I argue with this argument; whereas, some companies have also dedicated themselves to corporate social responsibility. To begin with, the growing industrialization indeed deeply influences nature. In order to pursue lower operational expenses, some companies set up subsidiary companies and factories overseas, which boosted the construction of infrastructure and housing in the local community. Nevertheless, it was factories usually release toxic gases and polluted water into the air and surrounding river. Furthermore, cities have formed center on these factories, which leads to an increase of autos with more exhaust gases. All the elements aforementioned have a detrimental effect on the environment. On the other hand, nowadays, more companies are aware of their responsibility towards society. For instance, a factory manufactured mobile phones in Taiwan advocated lowering carbon footprint, reducing the frequency of air-conditioning, decreasing the usage of paper, and forming a paperless office. They have to take these measures for years, and not only have they succeed, but also brought a positive influence towards other companies. By way of conclusion, while some multinational companies do harm to the local environment only for the benefits of themselves, other companies still contribute themselves to improving the environment and lowering the destruction they have caused.