Many people say smoking should be banned and some say it is not a good idea. What is your opinion on this?

Banning smoking is a controversial issue as many people strongly support this ban while others disagree with it. It has been around for centuries and in many countries public smoking is prohibited and against the law while it is open in many other countries. There are discussions and arguments whether smoking should be banned completely or not. First of all, smoking is detrimental to health. It causes lung cancer which ultimately leads to death. It might take long time to show symptoms but it always happens. Secondly, it is a waste of money as smokers spend a lot of money on cigarette. Addiction to smoking leads to addiction to marijuana, yaba etc. Eventually, the addicted people get involved in different types of crimes. They start collecting money by stealing, lying and robbing and the severity of the crime keeps on increasing. Moreover, smoking not only harm the smoker but also people around them. Recent studies on smoking suggest that passive smoking is as harmful as active smoking. On the contrary, tobacco industry is the source of huge tax for government. Government makes best utilization of the tax money by building schools, mosques, overhaul streets etc. Thousands of people work in cigarette related industries and this creates a huge job opportunities. If smoking is banned completely, these people will become unemployed. Another vague benefit of smoking is that smokers believe smoking refreshes their minds and relieves them from tension and stress, though it has not been scientifically proved. Some people think that banning smoking is like imposing restriction on people's freedom and they completely oppose the idea of imposing restrictions on smoking. Up to this point of view, we see that there are opinions for and against the banning of smoking. I believe, government should think rationally and wisely before they make any decision about prohibiting smoking. Personally I believe that public smoking should be prohibited and any violation of this rule should be penalized but complete ban on smoking should be made slowly and with proper planning.