Many people rely on news reporting to their information. However some think that the journalists cannot be trusted. and what qualities should a journalist have?

Nowadays, ethics in journalism is a contentious issue. However there are divergent opinions as some people argue that journalist cannot be trusted while others believe that they are imperative for accessing information. I totally agree with the statement that media person should not be trusted and shall discuss my views in the following essay. The primary reason why I agree that journalists should not be trusted is because reporters usually work for newspapers or TV channels, and these channels are owned by the big corporate houses. For instance, the International Court of Justice has published a report and banned 12 news channels which were working for business tycoons to fulfil their hidden motives. This is particularly concerning as big corporate families use television and print media journalists for their political agenda, which is not healthy for any democracy. Therefore, journalists are not a reliable source of information as they have to act according to their owners or directors. With regards to the qualities of a journalist, they must have integrity and honesty while doing their job. Additionally, a journalist should not compromise with his integrity in publishing an article or news. For example, the Media Association of India has issued a strict warning to some media journalists to maintain the ethical standards of reporting. This is because journalists are puppet in the hands of the government and used them for their media campaigning. Furthermore, it is the moral duty of a journalist to maintain honesty with in his profession and motivates other to do their job. As a result, these qualities will help to maintain the ethics in journalism which is significant showing a downward trend, in the current scenario. In conclusion, I overwhelmingly agree with the statement that media people are not reliable source of information as they are continuously working for the corporate people and executives. However, the qualities such as integrity and honesty would help in maintaining the ethical standards of journalism.