Many people prefer to work in the same field for their whole life while some prefer to change the field of work.

There are many people who work in a lifetime job; however, some others choose to try different jobs in several fields. These lifestyles would match with different personalities and hence, both have benefits and drawbacks. In this essay, I will discuss these considerations in depth. There is a portion of workers who decides to start in only one area and grow old with that. By doing this way, they will gain lots of knowledge and experience and become expertise. People who chose to build this career path mostly start at the lowest level in a company. After a decent amount of time and with their working ethic and diligence, they can reach the high-level position in the same company or in the rival company. This traditional professional development was accepted and encouraged mostly by the older generations, who was raised up in the difficult period and did not have the innovation in the internet and information as now. The second working style, which is jumping across several lines of business, is spreading widely among most of the young people. People who choose to jump jobs will not concern about becoming expert quickly in any field, they choose to have as much knowledge as possible. Even though changing field seems not very relevant in the career advancement, there are quite a few reasons why people want to try this way. Firstly, some young people may not really know what they want to do in the first few years of their working life, therefore trying different areas to know what they want would help them to choose. Secondly, working in diverse businesses may help to have a wide knowledge in many business aspects, hence they can use to build up their start-up later. In conclusion, choosing to work in a job of life or to change the field depends on what is the purpose of the decision maker, who should have a clear plan of what they want to do in their professional path.