Many people like to wear fashionable clothes. Why do you think this is the case? Is this a good thing or a bad thing?

Trendy clothing is a preference for a lot of people. This is due to a couple of reasons like expensive marketing drives by high-street brands as well as consumers looking for a change in their styles. This essay will look at the above mentioned reasons in detail and weigh if following fashion is good or bad. An industry of fashion brands exists in today's time, which is constantly releasing new styles on the market. To sell these styles, these companies spend heavily on marketing in the pursuit of making their latest collection a trend for that season. They use various marketing channels like electronic, print, billboards and celebrity endorsements. As an example, recently a product names 'Cute Neon Bag' from a brand got hugely popular and became a trend. When a recent article sought out reasons behind this, it was revealed that the bag was copyrighted by one of the big retailers who was marketing it heavily, thus turning it into a trend. Although in many cases there is concerted effort behind the mainstreaming of a trend, sometimes people follow fashion because they are looking for a change in their wardrobes. This may be induced by changing of seasons, politics or the arrival of the holiday season. For instance, a research stated that in the spring season, people have a tendency to wear bright clothing. The same research quoted a person saying 'I like to wear bright colours as this reflects my mood and the mood of this beautiful city around me'. Therefore, the reason for wearing trendy clothing is people looking for a change. In conclusion, dressing up in the latest fashion clothing is a good thing. This is because it supports the clothing industry of the country and also adds change in the lives of consumers. Hence, there is no reason why users should not wear the latest style if it is what they prefer to dress up in.