Many people join distance-learning programmes (study material, post, TV, Internet) and study at home, but some people think that it cannot bring the same benefit as attending colleges or universities does.

In some countries working long hours is regarded the norm. Economic success resulting from long industry hours comes at a price for families, people’s health and may contribute to higher unemployment. In my opinion the long term consequences are too grave to ignore and an effort must be made to reduce long working hours. The most serious effect of working overtime constantly is putting employee’s health at risk and causing illness, early retirement or even premature deaths. When working long hours it is more difficult to maintain a healthy lifestyle, like finding time to exercise and relax. An unhealthy lifestyle increases the risk of heart disease, diabetes and stress related illnesses. Being chronically overworked can also cause psychological problems, like burnout, depressions or even suicides. All these health problems can cause high immaterial and material cost to company. Another problem is the workforce’s limited time for social contacts and families. Long production hours do not make a very family friendly environment. People may find it hard to raise children and industry. In particular, women may have to decide against working or having children. Because of long trial hours, some employees will not find the time for a relationship or family at all and remain single. Consequently, birthrates are likely to fall, which can for example be observed in Japan. A low birthrate might leave a culture with an aging population and results in many hard to solve problems. Lastly, companies that require longer struggle hours will employ less people in total. It is obvious, that if people would only perform regular hours more people would be employed instead of some people being overworked and unable to find other struggle. The community has picked up the bill for most of the cost of unemployment and the consequences of people working too much. In conclusion, I believe that the advantages of long production hours exist only short-term. The negative effects are a burden to culture. It would be beneficial if governments and companies understand the long-term cost and limit long industry hours to short-term overflow industry.