Many people in the community now could buy consumer goods being cheaper. Whether the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people believe that important researches should be conducted by the government only. I partially agree with this notion. It is my firm opinion that private companies should be given freedom to carry out some research, but this research should be monitored by the government. On the one hand, I can understand why people believe that research should be conducted by the governments. Firstly, they are in a position to spend huge amount of financial resources because of availability of funds. Latest scientific equipments need to be purchased to carry out research successfully. Private companies sometimes hesitate to spend such amounts. Hence, government should take the initiative. On the other hand, I believe that research should not only be conducted by the governments. Private companies should also be given authority to carry out some research activities. One of the prime reasons for the same is that the scope of research is very wide, and it is possible that governments might miss some of the areas. These ignored areas can be covered by the private companies. These companies should not be authorized to do whatever they want. Therefore, some guidelines must be provided to these authorities to avoid adverse consequences. For instance, if private companies are free to research explore harmful atomic energy resources they can use this to advesely affect the mankind. In conclusion, government should take responsibility to carry out research. However, research carried out by private companies should be properly controlled and monitored by the government to avoid negative results.