Many people have difficulty maintaining a healthy diet. What are the causes of this problem? How could it be solved?

Many people are faced with the challenge of keeping to a healthy dietary choices. This is a serious problem because of its deleterious medical consequences. This essay will consider the main causes of the issue before proposing solutions. Perhaps, the most important cause of difficulty in keeping to a healthy diet is the busy work schedule of many people today. Many adults in various countries work from early in the morning until late in the evening and often have little or no break for meals. Thus, they usually buy available food for sustainance at work and while they are heading home. For instance, many companies in Nigeria do not have restaurants that provide meals conducive for health. Therefore, the workforce buy fast foods which have high amount of sugar, unhealthy fats and salts. Furthermore, due to the wide availability of refined and fast foods, many local foods that are wholesome are expensive. Many of these local foods have short shelf life which result in an increase in the rate of their spoilage. So, a number of food stores only house a limited quantity of these foods. This has resulted in their exorbitant prices, making it difficult to maintain a healthy diet. Fortunately, However, there are two promising solutions to this issue. First of all, employers should provide adequate meal breaks for their workers. When employees have enough time off their busy work schedule, they would be able to make home-made meals that can improve their health, or choose to regularly commute to restaurants that sell healthy delicacies. Secondly, locally grown agricultural produces should be subsidized by the government. Hence, it would be able to compete with cheap refined foods. For example, following a reduction in the price of locally produced rice supported by the Nigerian government, there was a surge in the sales of these rice to people who often visit fast food joints. Cheap local dishes would motivate more people to eat them and reduce fast foods. In conclusion, the difficulty faced by some people in keeping to wholesome meals arise owing to their busy work and the high cost of some locally grown produces. Employers should give their employees adequate meal breaks and the governments should subsize the price of some healthy local foods.