Many people believe that women make better parents than men and that is why they have the greater role in raising children in most societies. Others claim that men are just as good as women at parenting. Write an essay expressing your point of view.

First and foremost, raising children right is the most important responsibility of any parent. Children who are raised right not only have a good life, but also contribute positively towards building a better society. Bringing up our offsprings well would mean not just taking care of their physical and financial needs, in addition means investing time and energy in adhering to their emotional, mental and intellectual needs. Parenting in my opinion is an equal responsibility of both parents. Being a mother myself, I believe that men too have a similar skill set when it comes to parenting. Though, the traditional view puts the mother on the mantel saying that women are more sensitive and sensible, so they make better parents, in my personal experience, men as well have the same sensibilities when it comes to looking after a child. We, are definitely observing this more in the modern society where work allows even dads to take paternity leave due to which they are able to form a stronger bond with their kids from day 1. Like, my husband had taken a paternity leave when my daughter was born, and he took part in all the chores of the newborn from feeding to changing diapers. So, by the end of the 1st month itself, my husband also knew what my baby's cry meant, which traditionally most believe only the mother knows. And, since he formed such a strong bond at an early stage, even today when my child is nearly 3 years old, he knows what she is thinking or feeling, sometimes even better than me. I have observed a similar pattern in most of my friends where fathers spend enough time with the child and saw the contrary, to be true where father had gone back to work immediately. In conclusion, parenting is a wholesome job of the parents and both the mom and dad have similar sensibilities and skills to bring up a child well it is just a matter of letting go of the traditional misgivings and enjoying parenthood to the maximum.