Many people believe that the increase presence of violence in films and television these days is responsible for rising incident of violent crimes among youth society. They argue that government have a duty to control the media so as to reduce this phenomenon. Do you agree with this arguments

It is believed that the rising of juvenile delinquency is associated with the widespread violence content showing in the mass media; therefore, the government should control the amount of violence behaviour in those media. However, I partly agree with this argument as the increase of youth crimes is not only the responsibility of the mass media. It is true that the appearance of violence in the mass media may adversely impact on teenagers' behaviour. This is simply because teenagers are not mature enough to identify violent behaviour and understand potential consequences of those behaviours. They may commit a crime by imitating anti-social behaviour that they have learnt from criminal programs on television. Accordingly, the media content should be censored by the government strictly, which will contribute to reduce the possibility that teenagers are exposed to those negative behaviours. However, apart from government' controlling for media content, education also plays an important role in reducing youth criminals. By telling teenagers right from wrong, parents and educators are both responsible to develop the next generations to be upright and disciplined citizens. In addition, young people are less likely to commit a crime if they feel to be cared by families and in their schools. In this sense, preventing young people from crime cannot be achieved only by the government. To conclude, I concede that the government should control media content in order to reduce the youth criminal rates. Nevertheless, I am convinced that young people should also be educated about what they can do or cannot do.