In some countries more and more shops are open longer hours everyday what are the positive and negative development of this?

It is a trend in a part of the world to keep a high number of shops closed for a limited hours only, on a daily basis. This helps people to buy things as and when needed by them, and is also beneficial for the shopkeepers in the form of extra sales. However, such a trend has negative consequences, by way of enhancing the costs of the shopkeepers, and the expenses of the consumers. On the one hand, one of the major benefits of extending opening hours of the shops, is that the buyers can purchase their required goods anytime they want. The working class, as a result of this, will not have to miss office work, or take half leave to get their shopping done. Secondly, such an arrangement has positive results for the shopkeepers too. Having an access to the shops for more time, means an addition to sales, which results in higher profits to them. On the other hand, stretching the working hours for the shops has its own drawbacks too. Firstly, it means in addition to the overall operating cost of the shops. Expenses on facilities, such as lighting, air-conditioning or heating for the opened shops simply adds to the cost. This will result in addition to the cost of the product. The burden of which is directly shifted to the consumers, when they buy articles from such shops. To conclude, enhancing operating hours of the shops, will make buying more convenient and more profit generating. However, this will result in an extra burden on the buyers.