Many people believe that the current generation of children does not know how to interact socially with others. Why is this the case? What can be done to encourage more social interaction between children?

Many argue that the generation of today lack of social communication skills. This problem is due to the Internet and parents should limit the use of the Internet in order to encourage interaction with their peers. The main reason why children of today do not have well developed social skills is because of the Internet. Boys and girls tend to stay indoor rather than spending time with their friends. They are hooked with playing online games or watching movies which are the main reasons why they sit in front of their computers or gadgets for a long time. This nature of the Internet deprives children to enhance and learn their skills in interacting with others. For example, a recent study conducted by the Association of Pediatric Doctors in the Philippines revealed that the number of children who play in the parks reduced significantly when Internet accessibility became easier. The best solution to this predicament is parents should limit the use of the Internet. This is to say that fathers and mothers should strictly allocate a certain time their offsprings could use the Internet. By doing this, children would resort or forced to play outdoors with their friends because their common nature is that they will not be satisfied sitting in one area doing nothing. For example, in my neighbors' house, they have a rule that the use of the Internet is only allowed for 30 minutes everyday and 1 hour during weekend, and their children visit the park after their usage of the Internet as their request. In conclusion, it is true that the generation of the 21st century do not have good social skills because of the overconsumption of the Internet and this problem could be solved if parents will impose a strict rule on how long Internet could be used by their offsprings.