Many people believe that social networking sites have huge negative effects on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Social networking sites reckon to have a detrimental effect on individuals as well as the community. In my opinion, social media has its advantages and comes with drawbacks for the people and society. The positive impact of social platforms is undeniable as these networking sites increase the connection between people. It has become easier than ever for people to reach out to each other through social media such as Facebook or Instagram. It is also particularly convenient for self-education through online, virtual classes with educational platforms such as Zoom and Youtube. Thus, although social media may be believed to have a negative impact on daily life, its influence is unquestionable. On the other hand, the effect of Facebook and other social platforms can be seen as harmful. Social media use may lead to addiction. It is when a person overly concerns about social media and devotes so much time and effort to use it. As increasingly people prone to spend too much time online, real-life relationships, responsibilities, and even physical health are ignored. Social networking sites may have their benefits, they may also cause harm to the person using them and the society in general. In conclusion, although social networking sites have brought individuals closer together, they have also harmed the people that overuse them.