Many people believe that social networking sites such as Facebook have huge negative effect on both society and individuals.

Social networking sites like Facebook and Instagram have gained tremendous popularity in recent years among the youth. Many people think that these sites have a huge adverse effect on both individuals and community. I completely agree with this argument/view. The intrinsic reason that makes me feel so is that people are getting addicted to these sites. It has been noted that even during office hours, staff members do not hesitate to browse these online sites. Besides this, social media has become a hub for petty crimes. To illustrate, cases of cyber bullying, hacking and stalking are alarmingly high. Moreover, face-to-face interaction between people has reduced which eventually leads to a polarised society. Thus, children and adults are living isolated lives despite staying in the same home and this brings them closer to psychiatric problems. Concomitantly, these networking sites have deteriorating effect on people’s health. Myriads of health issues like depression, obesity, headache, and poor vision are associated with it. On the other hand, these are some people who found the sites as a remarkable invention in history of innovation. The sites have given a common platform where one can express oneself and communicate to anyone in the world with just one click. The aforementioned discussion boils down to the fact that although social media has given us the freedom to communicate anytime and from anywhere, these networking sites are negatively affecting the lives of many individuals. This pessimistic surge is here to stay if these sites are not used judiciously.