Many people believe that media coverage of celebrities is having a negative effect on children.

Many people are of the opinion that media broadcast of famous people is having an adverse effect on youngsters. I strongly believe that media coverage of celebrities has a detrimental effect on children because it consumes their time, although we cannot overlook how they benefit from the inspiration. On the one hand, the effect that media coverage of celebrities has had on children can be seen as negative. Because there is massive showcase of these people, children tend to spend more time on the internet catching up on the latest celebrity news rather than than using that time for academic research. As a result, they perform dismally in their studies. In Canada, most primary school children obtain lower grades because they spend more time watching celebrity channels on tv such as the famous Kim Kardashian show. Furthermore, children are initiated into bad practices when they are exposed to media that broadcasts celebrities. This is because some famous people are bad role models as they are into dangerous activities involving drugs. As a result, youngsters will imitate their favorite celebrities’ lifestyles which will leave them in serious trouble. On the other hand, media broadcast of celebrities has clear advantages to young people. Firstly, as children follow celebrities on social media such as Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, they are motivated to study extremely hard to be successful in life. In other words, famous people act as role models for the young generation. For example, 75% of Michelle Obama’s followers on Twitter are young children and a survey conducted revealed that children follow her because she is an inspiration to them. Secondly, young children can learn about other cultures and new languages when they listen to celebrities on podcasts during their spare time. In conclusion, although young people are negatively affected by the wide media coverage of famous people, i strongly believe there are benefits associated with it.