“Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity?

Congestion is one of the main causes of environmental problems. It is said that cycling plays an important role in reducing air pollution. This essay will give explanations on its unpopularity and provide some solutions to encourage people to cycle in most areas. One of the reason why people do not cycle in some places, especially in the cities, is its time-consuming. Instead of riding a long way, people tend to use other transports that take less time to reach the destination such as motorbikes, cars and trains. Furthermore, those vehicles give convenience for users. For example, people can drive their car to work despite of bad weather or drive a motorbike to work daily without getting tired. Cycling, on the other hand, is not the helpful traffic for a rainy or hot day. As a consequence, many people refuse to use bicycles although it is friendly for environment. There are various measures to make cycling popular to everyone in all places. The most effective way is to increasing people’s awareness of benefits of riding bikes for both health and environment. Not only reducing smoke from other vehicles which is the main cause to air pollution, cycling also helps to decrease many diseases such as obesity, diabetics and heart attack. In addition, government can increase tax on cars or motorbikes and impose higher price on parking to reduce numbers of people who use those transports. In conclusion, in spite of important role in protecting environment, there are many reasons why people prefer to use other vehicles. Government should implement some solutions to stimulate people to use bicycles in every places.