Many people believe that in order to have clean and tidy streets in their neighbourhood, this should be the residents’ responsibility, while others think it should be the government’s duty.

Cleanliness is essential to our lives if we must remain healthy. But many suggest that to maintain a clean environment, then every householders must take the initiative to clean their environment. Others, however, suggest that the government should be responsible for environmental sanitation. This article will discuss both views and explain while both opinions should be considered equally. It is often said that "health is wealth", so every householder must ensure that he/she keeps the environment clean, this is because it's an important aspect one must consider in order to remain healthy and maintain good hygiene. For example, few years ago in Zimbabwe, approximately 5-10% of people living in the country died as a result of cholera, which was caused by uncleanliness in the foods and water that was being consumed each day. This disaster could have been avoided if personal proper measures had been taken as regards environmental sanitation to ensure the safety and health of every individual. Therefore, residents should take proper care of themselves first by keeping their environment clean and tidy before relying on the government. The government also has a massive part to play in this aspect. It is the responsibility of the government to make sure the citizens remain healthy, this can be done by providing financial support to such environment to help keep it tidy, and also by employing workers in such environment. In conclusion, I think as long as it is the responsibility of the government to supply financial means as regards environment sanitation, every individual must ensure that cleanliness of the environment must not be joked with, if healthiness must be maintained.