Many people believe that formal “pen and paper” examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Examination and the way it is conducted has always been a topic of debate. Many people are of the view point that traditional pen and paper method is not sufficient to access a student and I completely agree with this. Older generations believe that written exams are the best way to know the educational achievement and level of a child. They are concerned only about the theoretical knowledge and are on the opinion that this is enough for their future. Besides, they also argue that one should have the memory power to remember things and hence do not find an issue in the system. Many developing countries still follow the old teaching and assessment techniques in which the only grading criteria to measure a child's ability is to have a theory exam. Those who have memory power will surely clear the test whereas those kids who has imagination and creativity will find this difficult. However, in my opinion, this strategy is incorrect and it is high time we should change the perspective. Importance ought to be given to practical knowledge which will help children in their future and career. Instead of learning everything by heart, they should be judged based on application level problems and scenarios, thereby making them realise how the actual world works. Inorder to survive in the real industries that are waiting for them, they have to be equipped with all the necessary skills and techniques. This is possible only if we change the education system to make it focus more on real-life issues rather than following the old study methods. For instance, many undergraduate courses in countries like Singapore focus more on industry experience rather than written exams. To conclude, as the world changes, it is required to reflect in all areas including eduaction sector. In my opinion, instead of sticking on to old school methods, examinations and assessments should be realistic and should make children adapt to the environment that is waiting for them in the future.