In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for and? Suggest some measures that could be taken to of individuals reduce the impact ageing populations.

It is important to consider the impact that the developed world’s increasing life expectancy will have on both societies and their citizens. This essay will discuss some of the problems which might arise and propose some ways to mitigate the issues. With regards to individuals, one of the main issues is likely to be the cost of living. This is because as a greater number of people live out more of their lives in retirement, they may run out of money in their pensions and thus have to depend on their families for financial support. For instance, a man who starts work at 20, retires at 60 but lives to be 100 will have spent only two fifths of his life making money. To combat this problem, government should raise the age of retirement. In doing so, people will be better prepared to cover the costs of their extended lives. As for societies, the most pressing problem is one of unemployment. Particularly if the aforementioned measure of raising the retirement age is implemented, more and more people will be in work and therefore there will be fewer and fewer jobs to go around. Consequently, young people especially will find it difficult to break into their desired professions. Dealing with this issue involves government investing in new technologies in order to create new fields of work. With new technologies appear new jobs, therefore plugging the potential hole in employment. In conclusion, two of the main dangers for individuals and societies which a longer lifespan may present are financial troubles and joblessness. However, these problems should be minimised if government raises the retirement age and spends wisely in new technologies.