Many people believe that big businesses in addition to generating profits should be involved in and responsible for the social life of the community Give your opinion

Nowadays, there is a controversial debate regarding the social responsibility of big corporations. As far as I am concerned, while firms are committed to their shareholders to increase their investment and generate profits, businesses are responsible to the community as their stakeholders and the reasons behind my reasoning will be discussed in this essay. Firms that are actively engaged in increasing the social life of the community could benefit from this practice in a number of ways. Firstly, people would notice the social activities of firms and become loyal customers, even if it means they have to pay more. For instance, in the latest trends in the Wallstreet, people invest in socially responsible funds, which have a strict code of conduct to not invest in any irresponsible firms, such as tobacco or gambling. These trends indicate that people have no problems with losing profits as long as their investments benefit society. Secondly, this practice would also help with human capital, since not only more talented workforces are interested to work in such a firm, but also current employees become more loyal to the firm' s value and would not leave for better salaries or perks. Thus, by helping the lives of people, businesses could raise their social values, which in the long-term means more profitability and growth. Admittedly, firms pay their duties by following the law and paying taxes, which covers a significant part of the government' s budget. Authorities could spend the money based on the needs and requirements of the nation. However, critics believe that taxes are not enough and big businesses, such as Facebook, Google, and Amazon, have other responsibilities to people, as their general stakeholders. For instance, gender equality, minority hiring or helping with educational systems are some of the requests asked by activists from big corporations. In conclusion, I think firms should consider actively increasing the life of the society, since not only it would be beneficial for them in the in long-term, but also it is part of their indirect responsibility to society.