Many people believe that advertising has negative effects on consumers.

Advertising can bias the decision-making process of the public; this can have positive as well as negative outcomes. This essay will discuss on how advertising is significantly beneficial. Firstly, advertising is a medium where a product is presented to the target audience so as to create awareness, which will in turn lead to further action from the intended demography. Advertising is essentially needed across all industries to promote their offerings. For instance, not long before the internet era advertising was used largely for retail promotions; however, due to the digital revolution advertising has been adopted in numerous unconventional fields such political campaigns, military recruitment and national tourism. This large-scale adoption is mainly attributed to the opportunity to control the narrative of the story and public perception of the brand. Secondly, advertising is a mammoth source of revenue generation and has a whole micro-economic industry built-in to its concept. It is this rising cashflow that enables many companies to offer their services and products for free to the people. For example, many of the current modern age large technology companies such as Google and Facebook largely rely on the advertising revenues for their business. Advertising enables creative professional to work on their ideas and showcase it to the masses. This aspect of advertising provides employment in various primary and secondary industries. In conclusion, though advertising can skew the perspective of the participants, it is a necessary medium of expression and communication as it serves as a platform to present products and services to the people along with the added intangible benefits such as job and wealth creation.