Many people argue that in order to improve educational quality continuously, students are encouraged to make comments or even criticism on teachers. Others think the respect and discipline in the classroom will disappear. Which opinion do you prefer?

It is argued whether supporting high school students in assessing their teachers in the pursuit of improving educational quality would result in disrespect and indiscipline in the classroom. I agree that evaluation of teachers of secondary school students will improve the standard of education without any loss of control and respect in the classroom. Firstly, I will discuss why adolescent students should gauge their teachers and secondly, discuss why gauging teachers would not render any loss of ethical values within the academic setting. To begin with, pupil evaluation of teachers provides them with feedback on improving their teaching methodologies to increase student participation. This will further invoke the lecturer to refine ways to captivate the student’s attention. Increased participation will help the student in scoring better grades. For example, a famous school in Bangladesh named Scholastica significantly improved the performance of their students in the classroom when teachers came to know about their struggles through the teacher feedback system. Furthermore, I personally believe that criticism of teachers will not provoke any kind of disrespectful or undisciplined behaviours in students to thrive in the classroom, but it would rather nourish mutual understanding by identifying their special needs. This would provide, especially the underachieving students, a chance to express their problems in comprehending lectures and establish rapport. For instance, a study demonstrates that when underscoring students give comments to their teacher, the teacher would pay more attention to their academic setbacks and help them improve their weaknesses. In conclusion, assessment of teachers by students not only helps tune teaching techniques, but also promotes mutual understanding among lecturers and pupils. Therefore, I side with the opinion that this approach ultimately improves the quality of education without leading to disrespect and indiscipline in the classroom.