many people are spending a lot of money on their weddings. do you think is a good thing?

Weddings are certainly one of the most memorable days of a person's lifetime. Increased expenditure on weddings is quite the trend these days with people choosing to make their special day grand and festive. I believe that, while it is important to celebrate such joyous occasions, spending a lot of money on weddings is not a good thing and the below essay outlines my reasons for believing so. Nevertheless, I believe that over-the-top spending has many negative consequences. Firstly, extremely costly arrangements are nothing but a waste of money as these only bring superficial happiness. This happiness is short-lived as being with loved ones is more important that materialistic contentment. Most of the expensive items used in a wedding such as decorative clothing, jewellery, fancy lights and exotic flowers are never re-used. Consequently, this leads to excessive wastage, and as such, brings more despair than joy. For instance, it is estimated that almost 75% of the items that are used in wedding stage decorations are thrown away after the big day. Secondly, many young couples fall into the trap of debt for the sake of spending lavishly on their wedding day. This is usually due to societal pressure to show off their riches which subsequently leads to mounting credit card bills. Furthermore, this money would have better use as an investment in the couple's future. Although this is done to impress others, it usually poses a headache at a later point. For example, a recent survey by The Gurdian pointed out that 42% of newly married couples have some form of financial liability that haunts them post their wedding day. To summarize, couples do tend to spend a lot of cash on their weddings these days. Even though this is necessary to an extent, I believe that extreme spending is not good and that the expenditure must be controlled.