Many people are now spending more and more time travelling to work or school. Some people believe that this is a negative development while others think there are some benefits.

Over the last few years, numerous changes have been witnessed in the field of commuting. Nowadays, people tend to spend more and more time on travels between their homes and places for work or studies. While it is considered by some that such a tendency might provide citizens with particular benefits, I believe that it negatively affects people’s lives. On the one hand, some people could argue that long travels to work or school might ensure citizens with additional time. In fact, extra time would enable passengers to do their uncompleted tasks. In other words, 30 minutes of additional time on a bus or a train would allow an employee to check their yesterday’s report or would enable to remake their homework. Eventually, people might leave their tasks for hours spent while travelling in the morning, thereby allocating more time for personal purposes in the evenings. On the other hand, I am convinced that commuters would be obliged to wake up early in order to be at work or at school in time. This would constitute a reason for going to bed soon as well, leading to a shortage of the evening time spent on family, entertainment or any other private activities. Consequently, I am certain that instead of enjoying free time during late hours, people would fall asleep soon so as to wake up early to arrive to their destinations in time. Indisputably, it would worsen citizens’ lives. To summarise, although some consider long commuting as an opportunity to finish uncompleted tasks, I am inclined to believe that it will definitely result in a sufficient decrease of time spent on private purposes in the evenings.