Some people believe that sports is an essential part of school life for children, while others feel it should be purely optional. Discuss these opposing views and give your own opinion.

It is important to consider the role sports play during the early years of a child's developmental process. While there are people who argue that sports ought to be a neccessary part of the school life, there are those who think that sports should be completely optional at schools. I completely agree with the former idea, and in this essay, I will explore both the sides of the argument and provide the reason behind my opinion. On the one hand, we have people who think sports should be purely optional, and schools should not force sports into the curriculum of schoolgoers. One reason behind this argument can be the obvious fact that a compulsory sports period might leave children with lesser time for academic subjects. As a result, some students might perform poorly at exams. Another reason behind this argument may be that some kinds of sports are likely to leave children at a higher risk of injury. For example, a recent study found that schools in New York, which had forced participation with respect to sports, had higher number of children who reported injuries compared to schools where sports was not mandatory. On the other hand, we also have people who believe that sports should be an essential part of school life. Playing sports might have many crucial benefits. One such benefit is that sport in school helps children to develop important social skills such as conflict resolution and the art of making friends; As a result, children get better equipped for upcoming life struggles. Another prime factor behind this idea might be the fact that early-life physical activies are paramount for the proper development of the body; thus, children who play sports at school are, in general, healthier than their non-sports counterparts. In conclusion, despite some minor downsides of making sports compulsory at schools, children can indeed benefit greatly from a routine where sports is made mandatory. Therefore, I extend my unequivocal support to the idea that sports should remain an essential part of the curriculum.