Many people are now spending more and more time travelling to work or school, some people believe that this has negative development while others think there are some benefits.

It is true that travelling to work or school is now more time-consuming than before for many people. Despite some benefits of this, I believe that it is a negative trend in the main. Admittedly, there are a number of positive effects of longer time spent on commuting and travelling to school. The first one is that people have better accommodation, more spacious home when they live far from work and school. With the same amount of money, an inner-city apartment is often smaller and provides less access to the nature compared to a house in the suburbs. This increases the quality of life and well-being of those who decide to reside far from city centers. Another advantage is that more people travelling farther to work or school means less traffic congestion in urban areas. In developed countries, such as Japan and Australia, citizens often go to work or school by train because of the distance from their home. As a result of this, the number of private cars on the road decreases, which helps to ease traffic gridlock in city centers. I personally argue that more time spent on travelling is a negative trend. My first reason is that people have to wake up earlier in the morning and head home later at night, and this means that they have less quality time to spend with the family. They may have to start a day at 5AM to catch a train and come home at 9PM, which literally deprives them of time to bond with their spouses and children. Also, more time spent on travelling to work and school may cause fatigue and lower productivity. Employees tend to show up at work and students are likely to attend class without necessary energy and vitality to yield good results and focus on lessons. In conclusion, while there are certain benefits of living far from work and school, I firmly believe that overall the drawbacks are more significant.