Many people are now opting to provide technology companies with their personal data in exchange for access to the software. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages.

It is argued that these days many people are deciding to give access to the technology firms with their private information in return for permission to use the software. This essay will argue that despite there being potential security risks while providing data, the benefit of being educated about new products far outweigh any drawback. Admittedly, there is a basic drawback of security concern, because some companies published the personal data of a client at some platforms without their consent. Due to which there is a threat that some people assumes fake identities on the internet, misuse this data and demand ransom for reciprocating the crime. For instance, in 2017 in the United Kingdom, a gang was accused of cyber-crime, they were involved in identity theft, and credit card frauds by using personal data of software users. However, confidential data sharing does not need to be like this and concerns could be reduced if people choose wisely by not given the opportunity to be scammed and confirm that whether the company is genuine or fake. Despite the drawback above, data sharing by the customer begets benefits in terms of getting awareness about products and services in the market. In other words, many software houses sell data to the advertising companies and in return, costumer gets the latest and up-to-date information about a plethora of products without doing any laborious work. For example, a survey report published in the Daily Times of America reveals that 74% of the users find data sharing useful in terms of getting the latest information. This opportunity means that an exchange of data with the software excess is very worthwhile and eclipses any fear of security threats. To conclude, the data exchange gives a person a chance to get know-how about enormous new trends far outweighs the supposed disadvantage of being exploited while sharing personal information.