Many parents use punishment to teach the difference between right and wrong to kids. Many people think that the punishment is necessary to help children learn the distinction.

Parenting is a very difficult challenge all around the world. Most of the parents consider punishment a better teaching method instead of listening and communicating with the children. However, to my mind, anything excess is bad. It I not deniable that the punishment is one of the easiest ways to teach children good or bad but it should not be the only way of teaching. To start with, children are very sensitive, want love and care. They need their parents’ support and encouragement in every aspect of their life. So, it is considered by most of the psychologists that by giving harsh punishments too often parents are making their children prone to violence. Hence, it is now proven by social researchers that children learn less from punishments, becomes shy and insecure and it may affect their social behaviour. However, it is deniable that children are naturally advantageous and curious about everything. Some are stubborn and need to deal differently. For such children, parents and teachers should adopt a strict but no-torture behaviour. It could include numerous methods such as scolding, taking their favourite belonging for a couple of days or limiting their leisure time. In addition, cancelling their pocket money for a month or cancel a weekend outing plan could be a better option rather than locking them alone in a dark room. In conclusion, I surely believe that minor punishments could teach children the difference between right and wrong, however, the consequences could be different for every individual child. I suggest that there should be a proper and balanced communication of parents and teachers with the children.