Many parents are worried about the increasing amount of violence in computer games and TV programmes for children. Is violent entertainment harmful for children? What can be done to solve this problem?

Frequent violent scenes in various sources of amusement aimed at children tend to raise their parents’ awareness on this subject. I am inclined to believe that excessive violence, demonstrated at an early age may result in children’s improper mental development leading to the application of such patterns of behavior in the future life. In order to prevent this issue, it is crucial to apply restrictions in terms of age to the spread of such content. Firstly, children as still developing organisms possess an immeasurable mental flexibility. Not only are they constantly learning new information, but they may also absorb it regardless of the content. Being regularly shown fights or murders, they might consider them to be occasional, thus finding it appropriate to repeat them later. To illustrate, according to a recent governmental report in Russia, the majority of juvenile offenders claim to have been playing violent computer games before committing a crime themselves. To tackle this issue, it might be essential to define a certain age until which children must be deprived of watching bloody scenes. The exact figure is to be negotiated, but on no account should youngsters aged less than 12 years old be authorized to watch such videos, be it computer games or TV programmes, inasmuch as at this age children’s brain is almost similar to the adults’, consequently, any detrimental effects of the scenes of violence are not likely to affect the children’s development. For instance, a long-term research conducted in France has revealed that the level of cruelty in children’s behavior varies according to the initial age of facing invented violent scenes. In conclusion, I therefore believe that the abundance of violence in children’s sources of entertainment is highly likely to produce a distressing impact on their future prospects due to the children’s mental flexibility. Applying a ban for all children under 12 which is critical age of children’s development is an essential measure to combat this issue.