Many parents are unhappy with the amount of violence in video games, television programs, and other leisure activities. How harmful could this be to children? What could be done to solve this problem?

In the current era of cutting – edge technologies, numerous parents are bothered by the level of violence which some of these technologies contains. This may have a negative impact on children’s process of socialization as well as it can play a decisive role in the upbringing cruelty in children in the long run. There are some ways to tackle this issue that will be discussed in this essay. There are various drawbacks of the violent content that some leisure activities contained. First and foremost, this may affect a significant step of upbringing – empathy education due to the inability to understand other’s emotions through the absorbing the cruel material. Not only does this result in the lack of friends, but it also will have a detrimental effect on a subsequent career. Moreover, there is a strong connection between harsh habits during the childhood and the possibility to become a culprit or even murder. Indeed, there are the great number of researches which argue that the roots of being offender lie in individuals’ childhood. There are some ways to combat the aforementioned issue. One of the most effective solutions for parents is to maintain time restrictions for specific apps or TV-shows. Indeed, modern technologies allows people to set time frames for any apps they use. Furthermore, it is a mandatory for parents to play with children more and to teach them empathy. To illustrate, there are lots of different role plays which give an opportunity to children to learn more about different emotions and reactions which is a fundamental for a successful future. In conclusion, some parents worry about how violent content of modern activities affects their children since it can be a reason for adolescents to become unsociable or even cruel. However, there are some solutions such as setting time restrictions for those particular activities and what is more important, to pay more attention to children and teach them to understand themselves and other individuals around.