Many old cities around the world are going through a major process of modernization. What are the advantages and disadvantages of modernization?

With the advent of technology, urban areas are now rapidly adopting the modern ways of living resulting in the transformation of old cities into modern societies. The advantages of this modernization include convenient lifestyle. However, this trend is largely affecting the natural environment causing drastic effects on the climate. Modern societies are advantageous as compared to the traditional ones as they have improved infrastructure and education sector. The buildings of the modern world are more robust and resilient towards any natural calamity. The infrastructure is designed in such a way that it can handle any harsh weather conditions such as extremely cold or hot temperatures and these buildings can even sustain themselves during earthquakes. In addition, the education system is completely revolutionize by the concept of online learning which has enabled students from various and distant regions to get the same standard of education. For instance, online learning platforms such as Coursera and Udemy have all learning material and video lectures from one of the leading universities around the globe. However, modern societies have drastically affected our natural environment. The increased number of vehicles are causing air pollution by continuously emitting hazardous gases in the environment such as carbon monoxide, as a result, the temperature is increasing day by day. In addition, smog formation which is formed by mixing fog with smoke is becoming a serious concern. For instance, in 2019 high air pollutants in the environment resulted in extreme smog formation which caused various respiratory and eye diseases. In conclusion, modern world is advantageous in term of providing improved lifestyle while its disadvantage includes the destruction of our natural environment by causing air pollution.