Some people believe that sports is an essential part of school life for children while others feel it should be purely optional. Discuss these opposing views and give your opinion.

People's opinions differ as to whether sports should be made a compulsory part of school syllabus or not. While some consider that it should be mandatory, others argue otherwise. I agree with the latter view because it is a waste of time that should be used teaching more difficult subjects. On the one hand, those that argue that sports should be made mandatory do so on the grounds that it improves students academic performance. This means that their cognitive skills are better developed because of the constant exposure to brain tasking sports. For example, constant engagement in sports like golf helps in fine-tuning one's coordination and improves focus because of the precision and focus necessary to swing the ball. Furthermore, the spirit of sportsmanship which is a hallmark of sports is taught and this may be beneficial in adulthood that is often characterized in failure and rejection. In other words, children learn early in life, useful coping mechanism to to combat failure and defeat as a result of sporting activities they engage in. On the other hand, it is considered by some that sports should be made optional because it is a waste of valuable time that would have been invested in teaching more difficult subjects and I agree. As a result, a lot of students fail in their primary duty of studying and passing their exams. Moreover, it is unfair to engage every child, regardless of their interest in these activities. In addition, some sports like hockey could be very dangerous and traumatic if protective hears are not worn. Consequently, players could suffer life-threatening injuries which would be devastating. In conclusion, despite people's varying opinions, I am of the notion that inclusion of sports in school curriculum is a misuse of quality academic time, and hence should be made voluntary.