Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measure can be taken to tackle this problem?

Committing more offence by prisoners who are released after serving their first time is likely to happen. This is because of the lack of access to skill learning centers within the correctional facilities. However, this can be resolved by introducing them to basic skill acquisition, such as carpentry and soap-making. The chances of first-time offenders who have served time becoming a repeat offender is high due to the lack of skill training in prisons, which is valuable in securing employment. This therefore, makes it hard for them to survive outside jail without resorting back to a life of crime. For instance, countries like Norway who make access to online education easy and free for prisoners, record a yearly decline in repeated crimes by same offenders as knowledge obtained while incarcerated is used in getting jobs when released back to the society. A major way to combat repeated crime by first time offenders is for the government to add trade training within the correctional facilities. Doing this will enable the offenders acquire life skills like carpentry, thereby boosting their resume and eligibility to work in a furniture company. To illustrate, prisoners who know how to make furniture can build and sell home cabinets when released from prison, which enables them to earn enough to cater for themselves. In conclusion, though a lot of prisoners commit more offence after serving their first jail term due to non-access to skill trading facilities in prison, this can be tackled by authorities making provisions for skill building infrastructure within the prison.