Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

These days, a large amount of food products purchased from shops and food places are frittered away by consumers. There are a vast number of reasons why this disturbing phenomenon is happening. However, this problem can be alleviated by employing some effective solutions. This essay, therefore, will explain some of these reasons and consequences. Many diverse factors can contribute to the fact that plenty of food is used extravagantly. Chief among them is the growth of consumerism. Since, consumerist cultures encourage people to buy as many goods and food as possible, and also promotion of this norm associates consumption with a high status in the society. Accordingly, people leading a consumerist lifestyle have a strong tendency to purchase thoughtlessly a lot of unnecessary food from retail outlets based on unreal needs. For another, the improvement of the quantity and quality of food and low cost of it are other reasons responsible for this problem. The shortage of food has been eased due to the advancement in modern agricultural methods, namely battery farming, using chemical fertilizers and pesticides, and genetically modified crops which are resistant to diseases and insects and grow faster. These methods have enhanced the crop yields and coupled with revolutionary changes in food industry such as ready- to- eat foods and excellent distribution have facilitated access to dietary supplies. Moreover, an increase in the amount of food supplies has resulted in a reduction in food prices. Consequently, easy access to food products and lower cost have led to careless food consumption and huge amount of food wastage. To mitigate the problem, a number of promising measures should be taken. One way to combat this issue is enforcing strict laws and setting up serious punishments. The main reason behind this is that many individuals lack enough commitment and enthusiasm to voluntarily reduce the amount of their leftovers. Because of this, the government could deter members of the society, particularly those people who should be forced into obeying the rules, from squandering food by regulating the problem. Additionally, authorities should raise public awareness about the detrimental effect of food waste and how to consume it properly. Using a wide range of the media, especially social media platforms, and education system, citizens should be well informed of how to react to glamorous, exaggerating or even distorted food advertisements and also to resist the temptation of marketing food products. Furthermore, they should be given information about the harmful impacts of this worrying trend on their lives, for instance on the environment. In conclusion, several reasons could cause throwing away a tremendous amount of food such as the prevalence of consumerism, easy access to food, and its low price. However, remedies, including imposing legal limitations and setting punishments are available to curb the problem.