Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admissions to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Museums are the places which preserve art and articles of ancient times. It is stated that there is an entry fee to some of these places while others do not charge for admission. This essay will discuss the benefit of charging is greater because, it helps them to be financially independent compared to the drawback of less people being able to afford the tickets. Asking a payment at entrance enables the museum to be economically self sufficient so that they can take care of the maintenance expenses. Additionally, they also have funds for upgrading their gallery, which may encourage more people to visit. For example, in spite of having a hefty entry fee, the Madamme Tussaads museum is one of the top tourist destination in London due to the quality of innovative art work displayed. Despite all the benefits, the disadvantage of keeping an admission charge is that many people will get discouraged to visit such places, especially the poor, as they cannot afford the ticket. In addition, many feel that the art gallery is a place of knowledge which should be freely available to everyone. For instance, although a poor girl had excellent skills in painting could not participate in a competition conducted by the Jahangir art gallery due to expensive cover charge. In conclusion, although it is argued that museum should not charge for admission so that they can be accessed by everyone, the advantage of being economically independent to take care of the overheads clearly outweigh the disadvantage of less people visiting as they cannot afford the entry fee.