Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admissions to museums outweigh the disadvantages? ”

Lots of museums charge an entry fee, while others do not. This essay thinks that the drawbacks of charging fees do not outweigh the benefits because although some people are excluded when museums charge admission, museums need the funding. The main disadvantage is that high fees exclude a large proportion of the population, especially in less developed countries. Many people in poorer countries have just enough money for food and shelter and exhibits and museums are one of the few cultural activities they can enjoy free of charge. For example, Egypt has millions of poor people, but also a rich ancient culture and it is important that all the people get to experience these artefacts, not just those that can afford it. But this essay would argue that people with such serious concerns are unlikely to appreciate the arts. However, there are some who say that museums are unsustainable without the money they get from ticket sales. They say that this allows the buildings to remain open and it is better that some people get to see the exhibits, rather than none at all. For instance, in the UK there have been huge government spending cuts over the last few years, and museums have had to rely on entrance fees to stay open. Therefore, it is obvious that without these charges, there would be no museums at all. In conclusion, although it is unfortunate that everyone cannot enjoy the exhibits in a museum, the money earned from charging people to enter is often the only thing that is keeping the doors open