As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Considering how much time we spend at work, it is important to take into account which factors influence job satisfaction. This essay will explore two of these factors and then explain how they allow job satisfaction to be within the reach of every worker. Of all the various components which lead to job satisfaction, one is self-value. For instance, if two workers do the same job but one gets paid more than the other, the lower paid worker will feel undervalued. Consequently, their self-esteem will plummet, thus compromising their happiness. A second factor is personal passion. An employee may be awarded a lucrative salary, but if they are not interested in their tasks, they will only be satisfied when they leave work. In contrast, a worker who is paid poorly but loves her job may be happier at work than home. In my view, manipulating these elements should enable any worker to enjoy job satisfaction. Looking at the first, self-value does not need to be extrinsically assigned but can instead materialize intrinsically. In other words, if a worker chooses to determine their value based on their own performance, rather than their earnings, they should feel satisfied when they work hard. As for passion, the majority of people sadly do not work in jobs they are passionate about. However, if they focus on how their job allows them to pursue their real passions, this should provide a sense of purpose and thus fulfillment. In conclusion, two of the main factors that affect job satisfaction are one’s sense of value and passion for their job. To my mind these factors con both be hijacked by the mind to permit anybody to enjoy their career.