Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission outweighthe diadvantages?

People's interest in visiting museums is becoming increasingly popular these days. While some argue that the museums should not charge any entrance fee, many believe that these fees are crucial to keep them running. This essay will provide arguments why the advantages of these charges outweigh the disadvantages. First and foremost, most of the museums, globally, are funded by governments and since the state funding is usually not enough for these institutions, forcing them to take a nominal entrance fee from the visitors. For instance, the Australian Museum in Sydney comes under the government of NSW and have a yearly budget of around 2. 5 million dollars, but the total expense of the Museum is 3 million dollars pushing them to ask visitors to purchase tickets. On the other hand, many of these museums also having research departments which require constant funding in order to keep the research programs running therefore these admission tickets play a vital role in continuing these scientific searches. Moreover, these ticket purchases also help to pay for the regular maintenance in these museums which, obviously, are quite necessary to be taken care of. One of the disadvantages of the museums charging for entrance tickets is that many people try to avoid them if they are on a budget or if the museum has no exhibition running. This can cause a museum to run low on funds and can lead them to cost cutting, thus people's job can be at risk due to low earning in a financial year. All in all, apart from a very few disadvantages for these fees, I strongly believe that these ticket purchasing for entering the museum play an important role in running them as they not only play a vital role for tourist hotspots by promoting the culture and diversity of a country, but also provide a platform for researchers to search and discover many new species and life every year.