Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission outweighthe diadvantages? v. 151

Entrance to museums are either free or have an admission fee, there are advantages of having it that could outweigh the disadvantages. I believe that there are more benefits of enabling a tariff for visitors. Museums are institutions that provide knowledge to the society and add value to it, due to which it is important that they are maintained well and kept in good condition for visitors to have a good experience. Having an entrance charge, would allow the management to have enough funds to maintain and keep up with the quality of experience that is expected by visitors. In addition, having a menial charge would also help them bring more artefacts. For example, all heritage spots have a tariff, which assists in the restoration of the site, as these structures are probably 1000's of years old. On the contrary, when museums have free entry, it provides access to all strata of people, which would have a higher educational value, giving equal opportunity to all. As museums provide information on heritage, it would be beneficial for people to have free access, although this would mean the museum would be maintained by the Government. The Government would be using the tax received from citizens to fund the museum, which may or may not be acceptable due to varied interests by locals. Due to which, the Government would eventually have to introduce an entry charge for maintenance of facilities. For instance, some of the heritage sites, that were managed by the Government was handed over to private companies, as they were not being maintained and falling apart. These private companies then added an entry tariff, which reduced the number of visitors. To conclude, having an entrance payment, which is menial, would support the Government and Management to maintain the museum while also allow visitors of all strata to afford it. In addition, providing special discounts to students and locals would encourage more people to visit, widening the opportunity for education.