Many men and women are making the decision to have children later in life. Why is this trend occurring? What are the impacts of this development on both family and society?

In the modern society, it is obvious that there is a tendency that people decide to give birth later in their lives. This phenomenon is caused by a variety of factors and results in different effects on family in the particular and society in general. There are several reasons why many married couples delay having their babies. Firstly, young parents want to focus on their career to solve problems about money and find the right ways to earn a living. They decide to delay having the first child because they need to save up enough money to make sure that their life is wealthy. Furthermore, this choice allows them to have more time to enjoy life when they are young. For instance, it is easier for a young couple to travel when they do not have a baby to nurture. Finally, parents expect that if they prioritize their occupations, they would have more opportunities to make their life more prosperous, which could lead to better conditions for their children' afterwards. As a result, this phenomenon brings about negative and positive impacts on society and families. On the bright side, children of old couples are healthier thanks to better education and living conditions. Hence, they will make effective labour force and then contribute a lot to the development of society. Moreover, this lifestyle can improve the development of economy and civilization thank to people’s extra contribution. On the one hand, the world population becomes older, and fewer people are in the workforce, which causes a heavier burden on the whole society. In some special cases, the age gap between parents and teenagers are so wide that there are many endless rows over homework, clothes, curfews, and friends. This would lead to the family conflicts, even the break-ups. In conclusion, people these days have many reasons to have children at an older age, and the rise of such a trend will produce some certain negative impacts on both family life and society.