Many management interviews are based around assessing not only a person’s level of experience and knowledge but also their personality. Is leadership an innate skill? What other characteristics do companies look for in a manager?

In the recent times, the scrutiny of candidates in managing organizations is more influenced by their personality instead of their experience and knowledge. The leadership is the most essential skill that the company looking for in their top order employees. The essay will discuss about the important skills that a manager ought to pursue. To begin with, the most important quality of the manager is the leadership, which is a key factor to improve the productivity of the human resources of the organization. Moreover, the keen leadership of the manager can utilize the resources of the workplace optimally and effectively. Thus, the firm will get the maximum benefits in the operation. For instance, the management researchers had revealed from their survey that the leadership of the company plays a critical role in its future existence. Thus, the good leadership can encourage the co-workers and create an enthusiastic environment and the workplace. Furthermore, there are many skills that many companies looking for in a manager such as good communication skill, decision making skill and motivation skill. The communication is the most essential skill for a manager to pass the information from top management to ground level workers effectively, as well as vice-versa. For example, if the manager is not compatible for the internal communication; it might create many misunderstanding and ultimately the firm has to suffer from conflicts and low productivity. The decision making skill can help him to take prompt action in the emergency situations. Lastly, the manager has to be a good motivator to his subordinates by encouraging them through their work by solving their professional difficulties. Hence, a manager has to play many roles in the organisation at different occasions in smoother operation. In conclusion, the modern management looking for not only an academic qualification, but also a candidate consists of many interpersonal skills and leadership skills in the development of the organization. In this competitive world, one should have many qualities to get the employment.