Many high street shops have gone out of business in recent years. Why do you think this has happened? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that digital revolution has fundamentally changed the way that people behave including purchasing habits. Nowadays, there is a great deal of brick and mortar retailers that have gradually been no longer playing a vital role in the economy. While, it might contribute some positive thing to consumers, I believe that this tendency would lead to some negative results. Initially, there are two main reasons that might explain why many high street shops have recently gone out of business. Firstly, applying technology to consumerism that have re-shaped totally the market and customer’s behaviour. The various of technological breakthrough and the internet that have urged the development of e-commerce in which have complex websites designed by approaches which are reliant on practical customer journeys. Besides, in the light of the population explosion, the increasing space using for accommodation has had to widen that take the place of area of street shops. In Hanoi city, for example, the shop houses located in first floor of a block of flats have replaced gradually by residential zones. This movement has created positive changings, but also have had adverse impacts on society as a whole. Obviously, the shift to online shopping has helped the customers be more easy to choose and buy anything they want, which also have allowed both big brands and small and medium enterprises launching a several of promotion campaigns on social platforms such as Facebook, ig, … which are not required too much resources. However, there are some drawbacks because of this direction. Vietnam’s market has exemplified this notion. According to research of National Trading Ministry, 50% local employees who have been working in the retail sector lost their job, that has a significant influence of the rising unemployment rate in Vietnam. In conclusion, there is a plethora of justified reasons which might demonstrate the phenomenon of disappearance of high street shops. This tendency is both positive and negative.