Many high street shops have gone out of business in recent years. Why do you think this has happened? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that digital revolution has fundamentally changed the way that people behave including purchasing habits. Nowadays, there is a great deal of brick and mortar retailers that have gradually been no longer playing a vital role in the economy. While, it is might contribute some positive thing to consumers, I believe that this trend would lead to some negative results. Initially, there are two main reasons that might explain why many high street shops have recently gone out of business. Firstly, applying technology to consumerism that have re-sharped totally the market and customer’s behaviors. The various of technological breakthrough and the internet that have urged development of e-commerce in which have complex web-sites designed by approaches which are reliant on practical customer journeys. Besides, in the light of the population explosion, the increasing space using for accommodation have had to widen that take the place of area of street shops. In Hanoi city, for example, the shop houses located in first floor of block of flats has replaced gradually by residential zones. This trend have created positive changings but also have had adverse impacts on society as a whole. Obviously, the shift to online shopping has helped the customers be more easily to choose and buy anything they want, which also have allowed both big brands and small and medium enterprises launching a several of promotion campaigns on social platforms such as facebook, ig, … which are not required too much resources. However, there are some drawbacks because of this trend. Vietnam’s market has exemplified this notion. According to research of National Trading Ministry, 50% local employees who have been working in the retail sector lost their job that have significant influence to rising unemployment rate in Vietnam. In conclusion, there are a plethora of justified reasons which might demonstrate the phenomenon of disappearance of high street shops. This trend is both positive and negative.