Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

While economic growth is at the heart of the manifesto of some governments, many regular people as well as statesmen cast serious doubt on this stance saying that other types of progress are just the significant. There are those States who hold the opinion that affecting economic growth is their first and foremost mission, thus putting every other state matter a second priority, if not a distant one. such approach to governance is predicated on the principle that with the abundance of wealth will come a plethora of resources be it materialistic, educational, agricultural, environmental, HR etc. A different approach, however, maintains that real progress will not materialize unless and until a more across-the-board and all-around type of improvement begins. According to this wisely well-balanced viewpoint, economic growth is but a part of the real progress and is indubitably intertwined with every other aspect of governing the state, including politics, culture, religion, education, environment etc. To wit, a country beset with serious environmental issues will not take big strides in its development, since such issues have proven to imperil the everyday lives of people; water scarcity is a case in point which can affect agriculture and therefore even economy adversely. By the same token, environmental malpractice cannot be eradicated should enough awareness not be raised through quality education which in turn cannot be achieved in the absence of a nation who has achieved sufficient intellectual maturity to transcend near materialistic goals. In summary, although some governments may equate economic growth with real and irreversible progress, the fact remains that for a country to make real progress, they need to develop in every respect or else somewhere along the interrelated web of development, a weak link will throw a spanner into the wheel of improvement- an insight I hope the world will share collectively one day.