Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Opinions differ as to whether the nat

People have different views about how governments should measure their countries’ progress. While economic progress is of course essential, I agree with those who believe that other measures of progress are just as important. There are three key reasons why economic growth is seen as a fundamental goal for countries. Firstly, a healthy economy results in job creation, a high level of employment, and better salaries for all citizens. Secondly, economic progress ensures that more money is available for governments to spend on infrastructure and public services. For example, a government with higher revenues can invest in the country's transport network, its education system and its hospitals. Finally, a strong economy can help a country’s standing on the global stage, in terms of its political influence and trading power. However, I would argue that various other forms of progress are just as significant as the economic factors mentioned above. In particular, we should consider the area of social justice, human rights, equality and democracy itself. Whereas The economic condition of a country will not grow without the support of a secure social condition, better political condition and advanced educational system. For instance, without the existence of educated and skilled workers, it will be difficult for a country to improve their industrial and trade activities. Therefore, the growth of the economic sectors should be aligned with other important sectors. In conclusion, the economy is obviously a key marker of a country’s success, but social, environmental and health criteria are equally significant.