Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Economic growth is one of the many factors upon which a nation is judged across the globe. It has always been an argument whether the ruling party of a country should keep it above the other types of growth that can be made available to the people. This essay will discuss both the view and will give an opinion based upon the relevant examples. Increasing the wealth of the nation has always been a primary agenda of a government. Had it not been for the visible increase in the funds, how would it be possible for them to attract multinational corporations to invest in the country. To illustrate, the government provides subsidies to companies from other parts of the globe to invest as it will not only help them to reduce unemployment but will also result in increase in per capita income. To conclude, increase in per capita income of individuals in turn affects the GDP of a country. Hence, the ruling party must keep this factor in mind. However, should only attracting MNCs be the goal? It must also be the duty of the regime to ensure that its people are also growing individually. The administration must take sufficient measures to ensure that its people are literate so that they do not need to depend upon its leadership for basic facilities. A good example of this is that educated people will not require much support from the authorities which in turn can help the nation to put a stop on subsidies at multiple levels. In my opinion, individual growth in a country can make people independent and free from the support that they need from the authorities. Hence, it must be given more consideration than just to improve the financial aspects.